Brahms Mount Luxury Textiles – Made in Maine.

Brahms Mount, www.stylemadeinusa.wordpress.com

I have a special place in my heart for the state of Maine.  It’s where my family roots are and where I obtained my lifelong respect for our land, water, and air.  As a child I spent many summers on my Aunts farm in Presque Isle where I helped her pick all the fresh (and naturally organic) vegetables for our meals.  I still recall those lunches and dinners as the most delicious and gourmet that I have ever eaten.  I also love Acadia National Park in Mount Desert Island where the refreshing Atlantic water views and crisp air make it one of the most peaceful places I know.  Belgrade Lakes is another favorite destination with its Great Pond views and where the mail boat is one of the few remaining delivering mail to the cottages along the shore line.

Brahms Mount

On a recent trip to Maine I had the opportunity to visit and learn more about Brahms Mount textiles.   They design, manufacture and distribute a luxurious line of blankets, throws, linen towels, and baby blankets right in Maine. Of course any products I write about have to be both stylish and Made in the USA but this particular product line for me evokes an additional element…the essence of Maine….a feeling of comfort, nurture, simplicity and quality all wrapped up in a blanket…much like the blankets and quilts my Aunt had on her farm in northern Maine…they last forever and just get better with age.

The welcoming folks at Brahms Mount kindly gave me a tour of their Mill in Monmouth, Maine and then I hopped in the car for a trip down to Freeport where President and Owner, David Kaufman showed me around their beautiful store.  David has such a passion for the entire product line that it is no wonder how the company has been able the grow and thrive.  First  lets take a look at Brahms Mount Mill.  If you are not familiar with weaving just keep in mind that the weft is the horizontal thread and the warp is the vertical thread.

warpswefts

Here we are at Brahms Mount Mill!  Lets start with the Yarn which hangs on a CREEL seen here.

Creel

Creel

www.stylemadeinusa.wordpress.com

THE CREEL PULLS THE YARN OVER THE WARPER SEEN BELOW.

Brahms Mount

THE WARPER BEAM IS LOADED ONTO THE SHUTTLE LOOMS.

Warper

BOBBINS (shown with orange yarn) CREATE THE WEFT (horizontal threads).

BOBBINS

ALL THE SHUTTLE LOOMS ARE DRESSED BY HAND AND CAREFULLY WATCHED BY WEAVERS.

BRAHMS MOUNT

Vintage shuttle looms work their magic.

Shuttle Weaver at work.

Weaver at work.

A stack of throws just from the loom.

Stacks of woven Herringbone throws from the loom.

Brahms Mount, www.stylemadeinusa.wordpress.com

EVERY PIECE IS HAND SEWN, HAND FRINGED, OR HAND KNOTTED DEPENDING ON THE PRODUCT.

Brahms Mount

Thank you Suzanne Brown for your informative and fun tour!

Everything is produced by Maine employees and sold all over the world including Japan and Singapore..and of course sold all over America including their lovely store in Freeport Maine where I visited next…..

Brahms Mount store in Freeport Maine

Brahms Mount textiles, www.stylemadeinusa.wordpress.com

One of my favorite products, the Herringbone throw with hand twisted fringe. Absolutely the best throw you will ever own.

Brahms Mount herringbone throw

A shuttle loom on display adds charm.

Brahms Mount shuttle loom, www.stylemadeinusa.wordpress.com

Brahms Mount textiles So there you have it.  The most luxurious, stylish blankets, throws and linens you will find and all Made in the grand state of Maine!  For product information or to purchase go to www.brahmsmount.com.  Until next time Happy Fall and Happy Stylish shopping Made in the USA!!

Leave a Reply

